Since 2009, business owners and managers haven’t had to deal with changes to the minimum wage per state. However, this is all set to change, and in all 50 states.
The Department of Labor announced that more than 20 states were set for a change to labor laws and that increases in the minimum wage in 2021 are a reality.
These increases have been a long time coming. According to a recent Pew Research Center study, two-thirds of Americans are in favor of a $15 federal minimum wage.
It is the responsibility of the manager to ensure they are fairly paying their employees to avoid any lawsuits. Some states have already increased the minimum wage in 2021 as of January 1, 2021. However, there are a few with a later start date so make sure you’re aware of the changes to the minimum wage per state.
Manage Wage Changes Easily
Join Connecteam to manage labor costs in your business.
Minimum Wage by State Changes in 2021
Many of the states below are executing a new minimum wage in 2021 from January 1, 2021. However, we note the states that have a later start date so be sure to take note of those later dates if you’re in that state.
$12.15 per hour is what Arizona will increase its minimum wage to. Whereas, tipped employees stay the same at $9 an hour.
If you have 4 or more employees in Arkansas, then your new minimum wage is $11.
If the business has 25 employees or less then the minimum wage is $13.00. Whereas, businesses with 26 employees or more have a minimum wage of $14.00.
From 2017 through 2023, the California minimum wage is set to increase annually to $15.00/hour on a set schedule, says the Department of Labor.
“We have lots of low-wage, service workers who are working through the Covid crisis, many of whom are in jobs with a greater risk of transmission,” said Ken Jacobs, chair of the Center for Labor Research and Education at the University of California-Berkeley. “This will be a very welcome boost for them. As well, a lot of families are struggling right now in this crisis.”
Colorado is looking at $12.32 per hour with the tipped rate at $9.30 per hour. Its capital, Denver will have an increase in the minimum wage to $14.77 per hour. However, an increase in the minimum wage will go up to $15.87 per hour in 2022.
Folks in Connecticut need to wait until August 1, 2021, to see the minimum wage increased to $13 an hour.
However, it will continue to increase per year. Starting July 1, 2022, it goes up to $14.00, and on June 1, 2023, it’s a $15.00 minimum wage.
Delaware has a new minimum wage per state at $10.25 per hour. With the tipped minimum wage going up to $2.23 per hour.
Those living in the sunshine state must wait until September 30, 2021, to see the minimum wage go up to $10. Florida has a six-year plan to increase the minimum wage up to $15.
As we look at Illinois, that minimum rate is $11 per hour. There are plans to boost that number to $15 per hour by 2025.
If you have 25 employees, at least, then the minimum wage is up at $11.75. This is set to continue to go to $15 by 2025 in Maryland.
If you have less than 25 employees, then the minimum wage is $11.60.
If you’re in Massachusetts then the minimum wage is up to $13.50 per hour until it reaches $15 per hour in 2023. Now, if you’re a tipped employee, then the minimum wage is now $5.55, until it reaches $6.75 per hour in 2023.
From January 1, 2021, the minimum wage in Minnesota for large-employer wages is set to$10.08 an hour while small-employer wages are $8.21 an hour.
In addition, the 90-day training wage for those who are under 20 years of age, the minimum wage is $8.21 an hour. And the minimum wage for youth employees, those under 18, is $8.21 an hour.
The minimum wage in 2021 for Missouri is $10.30. In addition, the minimum wage will increase in Missouri by 85 cents per hour each year through 2023.
If you’re in Montana, then the new minimum wage is $8.75.
$10.75 is the new minimum wage in Nevada as of January 1, 2021. By 2024, the minimum wage by state for Nevada will be $13.00.
New Jersey, as of January 1, 2021, has a new minimum wage of $12. In addition, the state hopes to see minimum wage go up to $15 by 2024.
For those in New Mexico, the minimum wage has gone up $1.50 from $9 to $10.50.
Looking at the minimum wage in 2021 for New York is a bit different as New York State has increased its minimum wage to $12.50 on December 31, 2020, instead. Apart from in New York City, where the minimum wage stays the same at $15.00 per hour for all business sizes.
If you’re in Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester counties the minimum wage is set to $14.00 per hour.
$8.80 is the minimum wage in Ohio while tipped employees receive $4.40 an hour plus tips.
Those in Oregon will need to wait for July 1, 2021, to see an increase in the minimum wage in 2021, which is $12.75 as the standard.
If you’re in the Portland Metro area, then the minimum wage is $14.00. And if you’re in nonurban counties then the minimum wage is $12.00.
$9.45 an hour is the new minimum wage for South Dakota. While tipped employees must not be paid any less than $4.725 an hour.
The minimum wage for Vermont will increase just 79 cents, from $10.96 to $11.75 per hour.
For those in Virginia, the minimum wage will be raised to $9.50 per hour starting May 1, 2021. By 2026, the minimum wage will be bumped up to $15.00.
The state of Washington has a new minimum wage of $13.69. Some of Washington’s local jurisdictions, however, have different rates. For example, Seattle has a minimum wage of $16.69 and SeaTac is at $16.57.
Easily Manage Wage Changes
Sign up now to manage labor costs in your business.
Minimum Wage by State With No Changes in 2021
Currently, 22 states are not changing their minimum wage in 2021. Below we show the minimum wage by state that hasn’t changed this year.
The standard minimum wage in Alabama is $7.25, with the tipped staying at $2.13.
$7.25 is the standard minimum wage in Georgia and $2.13 is for tipped employees.
Both the standard and tipped minimum wage is $10.10.
$7.25 is the standard minimum wage in Idaho with tipped employees at $3.35.
If you’re in Indiana, the minimum wage in 2021 stays the same at $7.25. And tipped employees remain unchanged at$2.13.
Iowans have the minimum wage unchanged at $7.25, with tipped employees at $4.35.
Those in Kansas have an unchanged minimum wage at $7.25 and $2.13 for tipped workers.
The same goes for Kentucky, with $7.25 as the standard and $2.13 for tipped staff.
Louisiana also follows Kansas and Kentucky with $7.25 as the standard minimum wage and $2.13 for tipped employees.
$9.65 is the standard minimum wage for Michigan employees. And tipped employee pay is the same at $3.67.
Now, it’s important to note that Michigan was going to increase minimum wage in 2021 but due to a high unemployment rate, it couldn’t be taken on for the year.
Living in Mississippi? The minimum wage stays the same at $7.25 and also for tipped employees at $2.13.
$7.25 is the standard minimum wage for New Hampshire and tipped employees are also the same at $3.26.
Like most in this list, North Carolina has the same minimum wage at $7.25 and tipped employees at $2.13.
For those in North Dakota, the standard is $7.25 and $4.86 is for tipped workers.
$7.25 is the standard minimum wage for Oklahoma and $2.13 for tipped employees.
Pennsylvania remains with the minimum wage at $7.25 and $2.83 for tipped employees.
$10.50 is the standard minimum wage for Rhode Island that goes unchanged. Along with no changes to tipped employees, at $3.89.
Business owners and managers see no changes in the minimum wage for their employees, with the rate staying at $7.25 and $2.13 for tipped staff.
Tennessee has an unchanged minimum wage, $7.25 is the standard and $2.13 for tipped employees.
$7.25 is the standard minimum wage for Texas and $2.13 for tipped workers.
$7.25 is the standard minimum wage for Utah and $2.13 for tipped workers.
$15 is the standard minimum wage for DC and $5 for tipped employees.
West Virginia is unchanged with the $8.75 standard minimum wage and $6.13 tipped employee rate.
$7.25 is the minimum wage standard for Wisconsin and $2.33 for tipped staff.
Wyoming is unchanged with the standard at $7.25 and $2.33 for tipped employees.
Wrapping Up Minimum Wage by State in 2021
For peace of mind, managers of all industries and sizes are working with the Connecteam automated time clock so they can be sure their employees are clocking in and out on time. But most importantly, that hours (especially for hourly employees) are accurately tracked according to the set schedule.
Connecteam automatically spots errors and highlights them for managers so problems can be solved in real-time. This allows you to stay on top of all payroll expenses and remain compliant with labor laws.
Learn more about how an automated solution can help slash errors in half while creating more efficient work processes.
Sign up for your free plan now to start managing your team better and make complying with labor laws seamless.
#1 Time Clock App
Get peace of mind with accurate time tracking for managing field, remote, or deskless employees. Never chase timesheets again and automate payroll processes.